Tennis began in Greece in 1895 when the first club was founded in the island of Corfu. The founding of clubs in other Greek cities soon followed, including the Athens Lawn Tennis Club, where the Tennis competitions of the first modern Olympic Games were conducted, and the Club of Thessaloniki.

Since the 1990’s many players of Hellenic descent have excelled on the international tennis circuit such as Mark Philippoussis, Eleni Daniilidou, Marcos Baghdatis and arguably the greatest tennis player of all time, Pete Sampras, winner of 14 Grand Slam events.

The first Greek Australian tennis tournament was organised in the mid 1980’s by Sydney resident Mr Steve Micos. The tournament was hugely successful in the 1980’s and 1990’s where tennis players from around Australia would travel to Sydney to compete in this unique event.

In 2003 a small group of Greek Australian gentlemen who love the game of tennis formed the Hellenic Tennis Association (HTA), an incorporated not for profit sports entity with the intention to promote the game of tennis to players of all levels. The Hellenic Australian Tennis Championships is an annual tournament held in Sydney and is sanctioned by Tennis NSW. The feature event for players with Hellenic heritage, The Mark Philippoussis Cup is named in honour of the Association’s patron. The tournament has over fifteen (15) events and tennis players of all nationalities are invited to compete. The tournament is also supported by the great Pete Sampras.